ANC retains control of 535 wards in Limpopo

The African National Congress (ANC) has retained control of 535 wards out of 566 wards in Limpopo.


Limpopo Electoral Officer, Nkaro Mateta, officially announced the results at the Peter Mokaba Stadium in Polokwane.

Mateta says although the ANC’s support has declined from 83% in the 2011 Local Government Elections to 68% this year, the party has won all the wards in eight out of 22 municipalities.

The party’s overall percentage has declined by about 15% from the previous Local Government Elections. Despite this, the party has obtained an outright majority of votes in 20 of the 22 municipalities.

The Economic Freedom Fighters (EFF) is the official opposition party in many municipalities, attaining 190 seats and three wards in the province.

The Democratic Alliance (DA) holds position three, with 94 seats and 24 wards.

Mateta, says the party also retained control of most of the wards.

“The ANC as the leading party in Limpopo has won all the wards in eight municipalities, in addition of the 566 wards contested in Limpopo, ANC won 535 wards. This wards followed by the DA which has won 24 wards, the EFF won three wards and the independents have won three wards the last is the Civic Warriors of Maruleng which has won one ward in Maruleng,” says Mateta.

Mateta says they have resolved six objections received during the counting process. She says they will run by-elections at the new municipality due to the death of a candidate who won the ward.

Limpopo premier Stan Mathabatha has thanked the Independent Electoral Commission (IEC) for running the elections smoothly.

“Our province had the most hotspots, followed by KZN but even in that sphere you delivered successfully I again which to thank you and the more than 50% voters who braved the weather on that morning,” says Stan Mathabatha.

Mateta says voter turnout was at 50.43%.


SABC © 2016