The fight for NFP votes continues

The contest on who will win the National Freedom Party’s vote and support seems to be on-going. On Tuesday afternoon, Congress of the People (COPE) Spokesperson Dennis Bloem released a statement saying that an agreement has been reached between the provincial chairperson of the NFP, Zikisitha Mlotshwa, and Kenneth Ntola of COPE.

It was agreed that NFP supporters should vote for COPE in the following areas: Amajuba, eThekwini, uMngeni, Impendle, Msunduzi, Okhahlamba, Escourt, Loskop, Ladysmith and Waaihoek.

Bloem says it makes a great deal of sense for the NFP to align with COPE, as the party in KZN is ideally placed to accommodate NFP candidates on their proportional lists.  Similar arrangements elsewhere in the country have also been agreed upon.

In the past few days, NFP leaders have entered into talks with different parties. Some have endorsed the ANC and there are some areas where NFP members have opted to give their votes to the IFP and others to the DA.

The PAC has also reached out to members of the NFP inviting them to support and vote for the PAC.

The NFP was disqualified by the IEC from taking part in the elections after it missed a deadline to pay its election deposit.

By Zinziswa Mani


SABC © 2016