Two other ANC MPs contest mayoral positions

The City of Tshwane is in flames over the African National Congress’s (ANC) Mayoral candidate Thoko Didiza, but she is not the only serving Members of Parliament running for a mayoral position.

Two other senior ANC MP’s are vying for Mayoral positions.

Deputy Trade and Industry Minister Mzwandile Masina is contesting the Ekurhuleni Metro, while Public Service and Administration Committee Chairperson, Peace Mabe, is contesting Mogale City Municipality in Gauteng.

The ANC is adamant that Thoko Didiza is the kind of candidate required to unify the different factions in Tshwane saying she is experienced enough to lead the party to victory.

However the latest voter polls show that the Democratic Alliance (DA) has the upper hand over the ANC in the capital city and the question remains whether the ongoing protests in Tshwane will have any bearing in the ANC’s election machinery.

ANC Chief Whip spokesperson Moloto Mothapo says, “For each position that each candidate has been assigned by the ANC, after the election they will get those positions because all the metros and the municipalities that we are contesting we’ve got no doubt that we are going to win them.”

DA Chief Whip John Steenhuisen says, “If they are not successful in winning those seats they should serve as the opposition, if they are as passionate, if they say they are about the people and the issues of those particular provinces.”

MPs are only legally required to resign once they have been elected to another sphere of government.


SABC © 2016