ANC North West announces mayoral candidates

The ANC Provincial Secretary in the North West province Dakota Legoete has announced the final mayoral candidate list in the province as decided by the National Executive Committee.

The ANC has retained its candidates in key municipalities with Jostine Mothibi of Madibeng Local Municipality, Justice Makolomakwa of Ngaka Modiri Molema District Municipality, Mpho Khunou of Rustenburg Local Municipality and Khotso Khumalo in Tlokwe remaining in their positions.

The current speaker of the Tlokwe Local Municipality Barei Mosiane-Segotso will make herself available as the mayor for the Kenneth Kaunda District Municipality

The current speaker of the Mahikeng Local Municipality Betty Diakanyo will replace Gosiame Seatlholo as mayor.

Boitumelo Mahlangu a former mayor of the Taung Local Municipality will stand as mayor for the Dr. Ruth Segomotsi Mompati District Municipality while a current mayoral committee member in the Motlosana Municipality Maetu Kgaile is the mayoral candidate for that municipality.

The ANC in the province says it’s aware of the new forum representing independent candidates. However, it’s confident it will retain all the municipalities in the province.

Legoete says, “The ANC has always remained ahead and we are confident that eventually we are going to deliver the victory of the ANC beyond the 3rd of August. We are not muzzled; we are not cajoled by this particular development by the Forum for Service delivery.”

There was, however, some unhappiness about way the list process was conducted with South African National Civic Organisation (Sanco) and the South African Communist Party (SACP) saying there was no proper communication.



SABC © 2016