Community protests cited as one reason for delayed voting

The IEC says that a few voting stations had opened late or were still not open at 11h00 due to community protest action which was preventing election staff gaining access to these areas, on the first day od Special Votes.

By Zinziswa Mani

During an ad hoc media briefing at the Results Operation Centre (ROC) earlier today, the IEC said these areas included:

  • Ward 8 in Ratlou Municipality in the North West
  • Ward 11 in Emfuleni, and Ward 16 in Midvaal, Gauteng
  • Ward 1 in Umzimkhulu in KwaZulu-Natal
  • Ward 19 in Mbizana, and Ward 6 and Ward 16 in Ntabankulu in the Eastern Cape.

SABC research data shows that these protests are not new to some of these areas, with Midvaal, Emfuleni and Ntabankulu experiencing some form of protest unrest earlier this year.

Midvaal for example has been in the news for reasons of political contestation between the ANC and DA.

IEC Spokesperson, Kate Bapela confirmed they were monitoring the situation in these wards and if no voting took place on the two allocated days for special votes, registered voters could still vote on the main election day, 3 August 2016.

Bapela added that in the event of citizens being denied their right to vote on August 3, by-elections would then kick in 90-days after election day.


SABC © 2016