Twenty one candidates to contest Tlokwe by-elections

Twenty one candidates will contest the by-elections in Tlokwe on February 24, 2016.

The African National Congress (ANC) and Democratic Alliance (DA) will contest in all seven wards and seven independent candidates in six wards.

The Constitutional Court nullified the 2013 Tlokwe by-elections, and ordered a fresh poll.

This time around the Independent Electoral Commission (IEC) is leaving no room for error. Contesting candidates have scrutinised, certified and signed the voters roll.

Provincial electoral officer of the North West Tumelontle Thiba says, “I am extremely confident and optimistic this time and we are
going to do all of us proud, who are participating in the process. We are all going to ensure that everything is going according to our plan. That the candidates can campaign in the manner that they want to campaign and in our part… we will deliver very efficient re-run of elections.”

Parties and independents are keen to start mobilising support.

The ANC’s Japhta Monaisa says, “We are optimistic that we going to reclaim the seven wards, we do not have any fear we going to claim the victory of all the wards.”

The DA’s Tlokwe caucus leader Chris Landsberg says, “DA has been canvassing in all areas in different wards, we have been there for a long time, and we hope we will do good during the election.”

Spokesperson for the independent candidates, David Kham says, “From now we will go all out to campaign, our candidates are
confirmed and we can with greater campaign for the voters.”

Special votes are scheduled for February 23, 2016.

– By Mothupi Sekhakhu


SABC © 2016