Results of Wednesday’s By-elections

Political parties went head to head in by-elections in fifteen wards across the country. Here are the results of each province.

Eastern Cape

In one of the two By-elections that took place in Nelson Mandela Bay Metropolitan Municipality, Ayanda Tyokwana won ward 4 for the ANC.

In an election where less than half of the registered voters participated, Tyokwana received 78% of the 5 488 votes cast (4 242 votes). Thobani  Noqoli of the DA came second with 13% of the votes (748). Pepsi James of the EFF was placed third with 359 votes.

The remaining votes were split between the  ACDP, United Front, PAC, and UDM candidates who each received 50 or fewer votes.

A by-election was also held in ward 14. The ANC candidate, Dolly Buti, retained that seat for the ANC. Buti received 68% of the 3 482 votes cast (2 39 votes). Once again the DA candidate came second.  Its candidate, Victor Manyati, won almost a quarter of the votes cast (837 votes).

Pumzile Makeleni of the ANC won the by-election in Mbhashe ward 17, Eastern Cape. Makeleni received almost three quarters (73%) of the 2 236 votes cast. Phumalani Msengeni  of the UDM was  placed second with 22% of votes cast. The remaining 87 votes went to the EFF’s Zamile Timbani.

Staying in the Eastern Cape, Fikile Jama of the ANC won the by-election in ward 7 of Port St. Johns local municipality. Jama won 83 percent of the 2 048 votes cast (1 684 votes). 12% (255 votes) of votes went the Civic Independent candidate Mkhulule Sefa. The remaining 83 votes were won by the EFF candidate Mthumeni Noxaka.

Western Cape

Thembisile Batembu of the ANC won Wednesdays By-election in Cape Towns’ ward 108. Batembu received 57% of the 6 356 votes cast.

Second placed was the DA’s Wilma Brady with 36% of the votes. The EFF candidate was placed third with 5% (346) of the votes.

Northern Cape

In a striking change in voting trends  the DA candidate, Ebrahim  Sulliman, won the by-election in Kgatelopele ward 2 with 72% of the 1 340 votes cast (960 votes). The ANC’s Rodney Lessing received 26% of votes cast (358 votes) with the balance  (14 votes) going to the EFF’s  Wilhelmina Tsokolibane.

In the August 3rd elections, 50 votes separated the ANC and DA candidates. The DA candidate won that election albeit with less than 50% of votes cast. In this by-election the DA lead grew to over 600,

This by-election result should secure the DA-coalition control of the  council which has been hung since the murder of the DA councilor.


In what can only be considered an upset the EFF’s  Jonas Mothapo won the By-election in Polokwane’s ward 10. Mothapo received 2 206 votes – 54% of votes cast. The second placed candidate, the ANC’s Tlou Matlou, received 44 percent (1 807 votes) of votes cast.

In August the ANC candidate received 10% more votes than the EFF candidate. This election reverses that allocation.
Ntsako Ngobeni of the ANC won in ward 3 of Collins Chabane local municipality. Ngobeni received 76 % (2 053 votes) of the 2 708 votes cast. The IFP’s Mkateko Mdaka came second with 14 % of the votes cast (387 votes). The remaining 245 went to an independent candidate Ntsako Baloyi.


SABC © 2016