SA Metro: City of Johannesburg

The City of Johannesburg

The City of Johannesburg is situated in Gauteng province and covers an area of 1 645 km2. Also known as Jozi, Jo‘burg, or Egoli –  it is classified as a Mega City in South Africa and is the provincial capital of Gauteng, the wealthiest province in the country.


According to 2011 census data, the City of Johannesburg has a total population of 4,4 million of which 76,4% are black African, 12,3% are white, 5,6% are coloured, and 4,9% are Indian/Asian. Johannesburg has more males than females: 50.2% male and 49.8% female.

Between 2001 and 2011, Johannesburg registered a population growth rate of 3.18%. At the last census, Johannesburg was estimated to have 1 434 856 households, with an average household size of 2.8 persons.


The main languages spoken in Johannesburg are isiZulu (23.1%), English (19.8%) seSotho (9.5%), Setswana (7.6%), and Afrikaans and Sepedi (7.2%).

Census 2011 data revealed also that 81.4% of Johannesburg’s population live in ‘formal dwellings’; 87.1% were connected to a flush sewerage system; 95.3% has their refuse removed on a weekly basis; 64.7% had access to piped water inside their dwelling and 90.8% used electricity for lighting.

Council’s seats

Current council composition 270-seats: ANC 123, DA 100, EFF 30, IFP 5, AIC 4, ALJAMA 2, PA 2, ACDP 1, COPE 1, UDM 1, VF PLUS 1.

Johannesburg presently has a minority government in place. The newly elected mayor ANC’s Jolidee Matongo passed on in a car crash on September 18.


Related News

The African National Congress (ANC) branch in the Khotho Mkhunye zone near Isipingo in Durban has held a prayer meeting for a peaceful and