Johannesburg Executive Mayor announces members of mayoral committee

Reading Time: < 1 minutes

Johannesburg Executive Mayor, Mpho Phalatse has announced a 10-Member Mayoral Committee (MMC) to govern the City of Johannesburg.

It’s made up of four Democratic Alliance (DA) members, three from Action SA, one from the African Christian Democratic Party and Inkatha Freedom Party respectively.

Former DA Finance MMC, Funzile Ngobeni, who quit the DA to join Herman Mashaba’s Action SA, has made a come back as Transport MMC, while former Johannesburg Metro Police Chief David Tembe is now MMC for Public Safety.

Phalatse believes the team is up for the task. “Yes I am happy with the team that I ended up with, finally Johannesburg will get the best of the best and they are going to get what they deserve.”

Phalatse was elected as the new City of Johannesburg mayor in November, securing 144 out of the 270 possible votes in the City.

The African National Congress (ANC) mayoral candidate, Mpho Moerane got 121 votes.

Last week the Economic Freedom Fighters (EFF) strongly condemns the recent unfair electricity disconnections that were unleashed all over Johannesburg by Phalatse.

Soweto residents take their protest over electricity to the N1 freeway: Wayne Minnaar:

EFF said Phalatse, who is in her first ten days in office, has already demonstrated her willingness and ability to sell out and oppress poor residents in Johannesburg for the benefit of her white masters.

“Through her recent actions in discriminating when needed to provide the most basic service delivery needs to the poor, Phalatse has dismally failed and proclaimed war unto the poor and marginalised in Joburg.”


Related News